Video Game Thoughts: Donkey Kong Land 2

Donkey Kong Land 2 was a 1996 platformer game by Rare for the Nintendo Game Boy. After all the fun I had with Donkey Kong Land, I didn’t wait to get the sequel. Since I didn’t have a Super Nintendo Entertainment System, I wasn’t able to play the Donkey Kong games in all their graphical fidelity. I appreciated getting a taste of them on the Game Boy. Unlike Donkey Kong Land, the story in this game was the same as its console counterpart, Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest. It took place on the same island with the same worlds to explore. The levels all had the same themes compared to the console version. The only big difference was in the layouts for each level. This made the levels unique compared to Diddy’s Kong Quest, but the gameplay was pretty much the same.

Donkey Kong Land 2 was one of the last games I got for the Game Boy. It was probably a better game than the first Donkey Kong Land, but overall, I spent more time with the first one. By the time I got this game, I had already extensively played Diddy’s Kong Quest, so there wasn’t a whole lot of newness to the game. I enjoyed playing it, but the game wasn’t as fun as the first game. Donkey Kong Land being the first one I could play all the way through just left a bigger impression. I played Donkey Kong Land 2 mostly to relive my fun with Diddy’s Kong Quest. It did pretty well at that. It definitely wasn’t as good as the Super Nintendo version, but mostly only in the technical aspects. The gameplay was just as good.

Leave a Reply

