Time in Heaven

In the past, there were a lot of theories about how much “time” people needed in purgatory to be purified before entering heaven, but now the Church believes the spiritual world does not have time. I personally think there has to be some sense of time just because I know that for a living body to move, there must be time. Without time, we would be stuck in stasis, unmoving. Now spirits maybe are not bound by time. God and Jesus are present in all ages. They don’t get older or younger. It’s the same with the angels. However, humans are different. We have a physical body which requires time to move. Even in heaven, we will have a physical body of some sort (CCC 990), so I think heaven will have time. There will be a massive difference between earth and heaven though.

Time will still exist in heaven. It just won’t matter. Everyone in heaven is in eternal paradise with God (CCC 1721). They don’t much care about the past or the future because every moment is as good as it can possibly be. There is no need to look at the happy moments of the past because right this second is the happiest they’ve ever been. At the same time, there are no sad moments in the past because heaven is always paradise. There is nothing to learn from the past, so they can improve themselves in the present or future. Also, since they are as happy as can be in the present, they don’t care about the future much either. Heaven will continue to be as it is, exactly the same, for all time. It won’t change, so they don’t need to think about the future either. Time will still exist, so that we are able to move our bodies in our worship of God, but there will be no sense of history.

This idea is hard to fathom from my vantage point down here on the fallen earth. How could heaven be unchanging like that? A big reason my life stays interesting is because it is constantly changing. Then again, it may only be interesting because I look forward to better times. It’s like someone addicted to gambling. They are always trying for the next big win. In my life, I’m always reaching for the next height. I’m not truly satisfied staying where I am. I have to be making progress. In heaven though, there will be no progress to be made. I will be perfected in holiness during purgatory (CCC 1030), so I won’t need to make anymore progress in heaven.

In heaven, we will experience the most pleasure possible, physically, mentally, and spiritually. It will be like a combination of all our best times on earth but never ending. This makes me feel better, but I’m still not ready yet. I really enjoy things on earth like writing on this site. I’m not ready to give it up, but I will have to get used to that idea before I die. I guess there’s always purgatory, but the closer I can get to holiness on earth the easier my purification will be (CCC 1471-1473).

May God bless you with his abundant grace,
Jared

Leave a Reply

