Video Game Thoughts: Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest

Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest was a 1995 platformer game for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System by Rare. I played the first Donkey Kong Country game at my cousins’ house. We visited my aunt and uncle at least once a year. One of the highlights of this yearly trip was getting to play Super Nintendo. My mom wouldn’t let me have a Super Nintendo, so this was one of the few times I got to play those games.

Another time was when one of my sister’s neighborhood friends let us borrow their Super Nintendo. I don’t remember them having that many games, but the best one was Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest. I became completely absorbed by this game. This was during summer break. I didn’t have to go to school or worry about homework. I had all the time in the world to play. I would get up, eat breakfast, play for hours, take a break for lunch, and then play even more hours until my mom got home from work. Sometimes I even skipped lunch. I was hogging the Super Nintendo so much, my sister and her friends got mad a few times.

After probably a month, I had beaten the whole game and collected everything possible. The neighborhood friend eventually took the Super Nintendo back. I wonder what they thought when they saw my complete game on their Donkey Kong Country 2 cartridge. Anyways, this game was superb.

For a Super Nintendo game, the graphics were extremely good. The characters, monsters, and backgrounds were drawn and animated so well they almost looked real. The graphics were really colorful. There were greens, reds, yellows, blues, every color you could think of was the dominant color on at least a few levels. I liked finding all the secrets in this game. Usually, there was a hidden barrel somewhere to teleport the player to a bonus level.

Donkey Kong Country 2 (DKC2) was pretty much the perfect game. The only problem was that it may have been too good. The other two games in the series just weren’t as good. The first game was older, so players would expect the sequel to be better, but the second game was even better than Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie Kong’s Double Trouble (DKC3) in my eyes. I only got to play DKC 3 a few times. From what I saw DKC 2 had a better story, better music, and better Kong characters to play as than DKC 3 had. I also loved the whole pirate theme of DKC 2. I may just be biased though because I only got to spend extensive time playing Donkey Kong Country 2 until recently.

Leave a Reply

