Video Game Thoughts: Chip ‘n Dale Rescue Rangers

Chip ‘n Dale Rescue Rangers was a 1990 platformer game by Capcom for the Nintendo Entertainment System. I never owned this game. I only got to play it from rentals, but it was a great game. I always had a blast with it. I don’t think we had the Disney Channel then, so I wasn’t able to watch the show that the game was based on. I thought the graphics were really neat. I also really liked the music. The game was pretty short but also pretty difficult. The first time we rented it, I wasn’t able to beat it. I think the player started with three lives. After that they had to start over from the beginning. I would estimate the game was no longer than three hours, but it took many retries before I had memorized the levels enough to beat it.

I remember one Sunday morning I was so excited to play, but we had to go to church. I had played the game all evening the night before, but I still wanted to play more. The whole mass I couldn’t think of anything but the fun I would have playing later. Chip ‘n Dale Rescue Rangers wasn’t as good as Nintendo’s own platformers, but it was still a lot of fun.

Comparing it to games in the current time, Nintendo’s platformers were the AAA games. They had a whole team of developers working on them and a big budget. Chip ‘n Dale, on the other hand, was made by just a few guys. It was very much like how indie games are today. The gameplay in an indie game is many times just as good as a AAA, with the indie game only being shorter in length. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad game. If the story doesn’t warrant more levels, it is better for the game to be shorter (and sold at a lower price too).

Leave a Reply

