Video Game Thoughts: Super Mario Bros. 2

Super Mario Bros. 2 was a 1988 platformer game by Nintendo for the Nintendo Entertainment System. This game was very different than the first Mario game. I found out years later that the Mario 2 we got in America was different from the one in Japan. The Mario 2 in Japan was a true sequel, but Nintendo felt it was too difficult for American players. They ended up taking another game they were working on and releasing it in America as Mario 2. The Japanese Mario 2 was later released in America as Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels, but I never played it.

As far as I remember, this game was shorter than the first Super Mario Bros., but there were four characters to play as. Instead of just Mario, the player had Luigi, Princess Peach, and Toad. Compared to Mario, Luigi could jump higher, the Princess could hover a short distance. I don’t remember what Toad could do, but I think this was the game that introduced Toad. Now Toad is a common sight in Mario games.

Mario 1 levels were like obstacle courses. The player just had to get to the flagpole at the end, but there were all kinds of hazards in the way to navigate through. Mario 2 still had some of that, but it had more of a puzzle solving focus. Many times it wasn’t just about getting to the next area, but figuring out where to go. The levels were much more complex with doors to other rooms that might connect back to the same room in a different spot. Sometimes the player had to find keys to open a door.

It was a really confusing game to me, especially at the young age I was at when playing it the first time. To this day I’ve never finished the game. I would try now if I still had that old NES and the game cartridge. They got sold accidentally when I was in high school. Then again, the old NES may not have even worked this many years later. I can purchase the emulated version from the Wii U console’s online store though. I might do that in the future, but right now I have more than enough games to play.

Leave a Reply

