Book Thoughts: Harry Potter series

Harry Potter was a 1997-2007 series of fantasy children’s novels by J.K. Rowling. There were seven books written in total between those years. I didn’t hear anything about Harry Potter in 1997. It took a few years for it to become big in America. However, I was already in high school. It seemed too childish to read these books. Then my mom borrowed the first book from a co-worker. She wanted me to read it. I was apprehensive because I didn’t want to look like a little kid. I was a teenager, and looking grown up was a big deal. I did start reading to please my mom though.

It took me awhile to get into the story. There was just so much detail. There were slight culture differences I had to understand since I was American, not British. Then I had to learn about this whole “wizarding” world. In addition, I had to learn about all the characters. The beginning of a book is always the hardest part for me, even a book that I like. It always feels like work to learn all these new things. Harry Potter was the same. Like most books, it got better at the halfway point. Once all the introductions were over, I could finally get to the story.

I learned about the struggle between the wizard community and Voldemort, a powerful, evil wizard that had disappeared. Somehow Harry Potter was to play a big role in these events. From the halfway point to the end was great. I sped through the pages. My mom started borrowing the later books from the library for me to read. I read three books total before I asked and received a box set of the first four books for Christmas. Later, I got the final three books at the parish rummage sale. The more I read, the better the books got. It wasn’t all perfect. One of the books was pretty slow moving with not much happening, but the book right after was action-packed.

I found it interesting that J.K. Rowling did not decide to continue the series. Harry Potter’s story was over after the books ended, but there were many other characters introduced that she could have written stories for. The stories would have to be more mundane of course. The big bad guy was defeated. The stories would have to be small scale. She could write stories about detectives fighting crime with magic, wizards doing various magical research, and the relations between the non-magical people and the wizards.

I guess one thing I like about Harry Potter is that it had an ending. Too many companies these days just monetize an idea to death. These days it’s superhero movies. They just keep writing stories long after it has become boring. The superhero movies would be better if they took a five year break between each one, but year after year it’s just too much of the same thing. Harry Potter will probably end up the same when J.K. Rowling passes away though. There is just too much money to be made. Her estate will eventually sell the rights for more books and movies to be made. It’s just a matter of time, maybe not in my lifetime though.

Leave a Reply

