Video Game Thoughts: The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess was a 2006 action-adventure game by Nintendo for the Nintendo GameCube and Wii. Twilight Princess was a game I somewhat overlooked. I wasn’t getting a Wii. I planned to play it on the GameCube. The problem was the game just took forever to be released. The game was originally slated to come out during the holidays of 2005, but this was pushed back so Nintendo could get it working on the new Wii as a launch title. By the time the game came out, I was focused on the new Xbox and PlayStation consoles. I was wanting to try out some of the game series I had not been able to before, especially The Elder Scrolls series, which had the new Oblivion game released earlier in the year. Not having an Xbox or PlayStation though, I did ask for Twilight Princess for Christmas.

Twilight Princess turned out to be a pretty good game, but I just couldn’t get into it. In fact, halfway through I was ready for the game to be over. It just seemed too long. Besides being distracted by next-gen games (Oblivion), I also kept comparing Twilight Princess to the old Ocarina of Time Zelda game. It seemed like Twilight Princess was a remake of Ocarina of Time, just with higher production values (graphics, sound, music, scope, etc.). The game was good but too much of the same. I just couldn’t get over this. After finally beating the game, I abandoned it for a year. I didn’t even try to finish all the sidequests or collect all the games. I just stopped playing. A year later I played through it again, and the game still felt like it was dragging at the end.

Finally, I played Twilight Princess again a few months ago in preparation to write these thoughts. I played Ocarina of Time right before, so I had no nostalgia clouding my mind. It was true that Twilight Princess borrowed a lot of ideas from Ocarina of Time, but the newer game was clearly superior. I still felt the game was too long, but mainly because my playing of it ran right into the holidays. I was scrambling to beat it before I got a new game for Christmas. The graphics held up better than I expected. The story was interesting too. Midna is the best companion character in all the Zelda games. The pacing was much better than The Wind Waker, the other GameCube Zelda game. There weren’t many secrets to find throughout the overworld like that earlier game, and the overworld was still a little too large.

So really just two small flaws, a little too long and a little bit too large overworld. Other than that, it was perfect. I now consider it to be the best 3D Zelda game in history. Ocarina of Time was still the most revolutionary, but side by side, Twilight Princess is the better game now. It’s too bad I was distracted by other games before. I wish I could have fond memories of Twilight Princess. It is a good game. There is no question.

Leave a Reply

