Book Thoughts: Goosebumps #50: Calling All Creeps!

Goosebumps was a series of classic horror books for kids written by R. L. Stine. They were extremely popular when I was growing up. Even these days, the volume sales of the series as a whole is second only to the more recent Harry Potter series. Before I gave these old books away, I decided to reread the books I had and write my thoughts on them. An interesting thing about Goosebumps was that both my sister and I liked it. My sister and I never got along, so it was rare sight for something to interest both of us. In fact, my sister originally got the first Goosebumps book. I only got into it after borrowing the books from her.

Calling All Creeps! was another action packed book. I have one other Goosebumps short stories book I will read, but this is the last proper Goosebumps book I have. The story was a nice send off to the series for me. The main character, Ricky, found out there were these monsters living in his school called Creeps. The school paper’s editor in chief, Tasha, kicked him out of the reporting team. To get back at her, he attempted to put her phone number in the paper, asking all Creeps to call after midnight. This plan backfired when Tasha caught this prank and changed the number to Ricky’s phone number before publishing.

The Creeps started calling Ricky at midnight and forced him to meet in person. They transformed into lizard creatures in front of him. They thought the message in the paper was a coded message for the Creeps to mobilize and that Ricky was their leader. The rest of the book was about Ricky trying to stop the Creeps’ plans while still hiding that he wasn’t actually a Creep. The story wasn’t all that scary, but it created a lot of tension.

I got a little frustrated at how bad everyone treated Ricky. My frustration was tempered knowing it wasn’t very realistic. It was unbelievable how many bad things happened to Ricky. Even his teachers and his parents made fun of him. In real life not everyone would be against a kid like that. Another thing I didn’t like was how the Iris character wasn’t mentioned during the ending of the book. She wouldn’t have accepted what happened. It was a nice ending that tied up everything except what happened to her.

Leave a Reply

