Book Thoughts: Goosebumps #27: A Night in Terror Tower

Goosebumps was a series of classic horror books for kids written by R. L. Stine. They were extremely popular when I was growing up. Even these days, the volume sales of the series as a whole is second only to the more recent Harry Potter series. Before I gave these old books away, I decided to reread the books I had and write my thoughts on them. An interesting thing about Goosebumps was that both my sister and I liked it. My sister and I never got along, so it was rare sight for something to interest both of us. In fact, my sister originally got the first Goosebumps book. I only got into it after borrowing the books from her.

I must have read this book for a book report because I recognized the front cover. I saw this image many times probably because I kept having to open the book to summarize it in the report. Inside the cover my mom wrote the name of one of my teachers. It had to be third or fourth grade. Remembering these things was kind of like going back in time. I remembered what it was like in third and fourth grade. It was even more interesting because the story in this book involved time travel.

The story started out with kids going on a sightseeing tour around London. At the end of the tour, they got to see an old tower dungeon. Somehow the rest of the tour group got away from them and they became lost. Then a man dressed in black started chasing them. The kids escaped and got back to their hotel only to find that nothing they remembered made sense. They had actually come from a different time. I won’t go into details to avoid spoiling the story, but I really liked it.

The story was confusing at times because they were going through time so much, but I was able to follow it well enough. I can now see why I had to keep reading the book again back when I did the book report. This book was probably very confusing to my third or fourth grade self. I have no doubt that my mom had to help me with it.

Leave a Reply

