Book Thoughts: Goosebumps #25: Attack of the Mutant

Goosebumps was a series of classic horror books for kids written by R. L. Stine. They were extremely popular when I was growing up. Even these days, the volume sales of the series as a whole is second only to the more recent Harry Potter series. Before I gave these old books away, I decided to reread the books I had and write my thoughts on them. An interesting thing about Goosebumps was that both my sister and I liked it. My sister and I never got along, so it was rare sight for something to interest both of us. In fact, my sister originally got the first Goosebumps book. I only got into it after borrowing the books from her.

This book had a great story. Probably the best so far. It started out like a normal Goosebumps story but quickly changed. Again, it wasn’t a typical horror story. The main character, Skipper, saw one day a building that looked like the headquarters of the villain in a comic book series he was reading. He eventually worked up the courage to enter the building and found drawings of himself near a printing press. When he got home later he read the latest issue of the comic book only to find what he had just done that day in the story. Basically, his life became a comic book story. It took him awhile to figure it out, but he got to become the hero at the end.

This was a really cool story. I know I’ve seen a story like this somewhere, but I can’t remember where. I wished the book was longer, so more details could be explained. Like when he found the drawings of himself near a printing press, it made it seem like he was in the offices where the comics were printed. It was never explained who the writers were.

The author could have done another interesting thing in the story. He could have had the comic book writers or illustrators write what Skipper was to do. Then Skipper would be paralyzed from doing anything but what had been written. That would be true horror there. Imagine being alive but not having free will. You could be suffering from immense pain, but not be able to do anything about it. That would be a living hell.

Leave a Reply

