Video Game Thoughts: Super Smash Bros. for Wii U

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U was a 2014 fighting game for the Wii U by Sora Ltd. and Bandai Namco Games. Even though I’m an adult, my parents buy me a game every year for Christmas. The new Super Smash Bros. was the game I picked that year. Well, my parents ended up throwing me a surprise birthday party and took me to the store to buy any game I wanted. I got to play much earlier than expected. I had planned to take a break from games until Christmas since the Advent season is always so busy. That went out the window after getting this early gift.

I was a big fan of the series ever since I played Super Smash Bros. on the Nintendo 64 and Super Smash Bros. Melee on the Nintendo GameCube. Each game seemed to be better than the last. I would have also played Super Smash Bros. Brawl for the Wii if I had that console. I did have the Wii U though, so I was excited to play the latest version. Super Smash Bros. for Wii U was not perfect, but still very, very good.

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U was a fighting game with all the fighters being Nintendo characters plus a few famous arcade characters like Pac-Man. The primary game mode was called Smash. Four players duked it out on a battle stage set in one of Nintendo’s many games. Random weapons occasionally appeared that players could pick up to give them advantage. What made Super Smash Bros. special was that each fighter had its own set of unique abilities. This created tons of replay value. I could play one character for a month, but still have a lot to learn about the other characters. The Smash game mode supported both online and local multiplayer (players in the same room).

In addition to Smash, there were a bunch of single player and co-op game modes. Classic mode had players face several randomly picked computer controlled characters until fighting a hard boss at the end. If the player lost a life, they could continue but with the rewards for finishing reduced. The randomness kept it interesting for a long time. No two plays were ever the same. In All-Star mode, players faced all the fighters in order of newest to oldest. There were no continues in All-Star mode. This was a hard gauntlet but a fun challenge.

More game modes included Event mode, Master Hand mode, Crazy Hand mode, and Stadium mini-games. I loved something about pretty much all the modes, but my favorite was Classic mode. It was the most rewarding for the time spent. To connect all the modes together were Challenges. Each challenge required the player to do something special and unique in one of the game modes. This might be beating a game mode without losing a life or in a certain short time, but there were many other possibilities. I spent the bulk of my time working on challenges and collecting trophies.

Trophies were another unique thing about this fighting game. Most game modes awarded trophies for doing well. The game had an area where the player could look through all the trophies they had collected. Each trophy had a fun little description of the character or object depicted along with which earlier video game it came from. The trophies were a great celebration of Nintendo’s history. I learned about a lot of games I never played. There were over 700 trophies. Most of them were easy to get, but a few of them required finishing hard challenges. Many times the lure of collecting a few more trophies was what got me to start the game up again.

I had a blast every time I played Super Smash Bros. for Wii U, but there was one disappointment. Super Smash Bros. Melee had a cool single player mode called Adventure. This mode involved a combination of platforming, regular fighting, and mini-games. Best of all was that the content changed slightly based on the character the player chose at the beginning. I had a lot of fun playing Adventure with every character. I heard that Super Smash Bros. Brawl improved this even more into almost a full-fledged game. The new version had a time limit, which some players didn’t like, but it was overall bigger and better than the Adventure mode in Melee.

Unfortunately on the Wii U, there was no grand single player mode. The closest thing was Classic mode, which was really just the same as Smash mode combined with randomness. I had a lot of fun with Classic mode, but I wished there would have been something more involved like they had in Melee and Brawl. This was a very small disappointment though. I loved the original Nintendo 64 Smash game, and it only had the basic four playing fighting mode. The Wii U version had that plus many, many more fun game modes. It was more than worth the money, but every game could be better.

I played Super Smash Bros. for Wii U for months. That’s pretty rare for me these days. This was a high-quality game. Eventually things started to feel a little repetitive. I stopped playing regularly. By the end, I had completed around half of the challenges and collected about 500 trophies. There was still a lot more to do, but I had my fill. I didn’t need to play anymore. I still have the game though and still occasionally pop in the disc to have another go. Like all Super Smash Bros. games, the one for Wii U never gets too old that I will stop playing forever.

Leave a Reply

