Book Thoughts: Goosebumps #13: Piano Lessons Can Be Murder

Goosebumps was a series of classic horror books for kids written by R. L. Stine. They were extremely popular when I was growing up. Even these days, the volume sales of the series as a whole is second only to the more recent Harry Potter series. Before I gave these old books away, I decided to reread the books I had and write my thoughts on them. An interesting thing about Goosebumps was that both my sister and I liked it. My sister and I never got along, so it was rare sight for something to interest both of us. In fact, my sister originally got the first Goosebumps book. I only got into it after borrowing the books from her.

I took piano lessons as a kid, so it was interesting to read a story about someone else’s experiences. I’m glad my piano lessons and teacher were perfectly normal. This story followed a Goosebumps convention of a family moving to a new house. Another convention was one of the kids discovering an object in the attic. This time the object was a very nice piano left in the attic by the previous owners. Since it’s Goosebumps, this piano, of course, turned out to be haunted. The difference this time was that the ghost was actually a good ghost, not evil. The owner of the piano school, where the lessons took place, was the evil one. The ghost was just trying to scare the main character into not taking lessons.

I think the story had some plot holes though. Number one was that it turned out several people had been killed by the piano school owner. There’s no way he would be able to get away with this. When people go missing, their loved ones start looking for them. Then the police would get involved, who would start tracing the missing people’s whereabouts. Eventually, they would realize that many people just happened to disappear on the way to this piano school. They would investigate the piano school and see that things were just a little too suspicious. The owner might not be convicted, but the school would at least be closed.

Another big plot hole is how the piano school owner got the money for such an elaborate setup. He was described as being a mechanical genius. He had a complex security system to monitor every room and hallway in the building. He had built lifelike human robots and rows of computers doing all the processing for the robots. I can believe that someone would have the skills to do most of these things, but I cannot believe that he would have the money for all this equipment. He would have to be very rich to be able to do this. It was just not plausible enough.

Leave a Reply

