Book Thoughts: Goosebumps #5: The Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb

Goosebumps was a series of classic horror books for kids written by R. L. Stine. They were extremely popular when I was growing up. Even these days, the volume sales of the series as a whole is second only to the more recent Harry Potter series. Before I gave these old books away, I decided to reread the books I had and write my thoughts on them. An interesting thing about Goosebumps was that both my sister and I liked it. My sister and I never got along, so it was rare sight for something to interest both of us. In fact, my sister originally got the first Goosebumps book. I only got into it after borrowing the books from her.

Interestingly, the author went back to a first-person perspective for this book. He did that in Welcome to Dead House but not Monster Blood. I don’t know why he didn’t stay consistent. I noticed that the all the kids so far have been twelve years old. I wonder if the author just wanted to target that age or maybe once of his kids was that age. Authors often put subtle real life facts about themselves in their books. In fact, a cocker spaniel was mentioned as the family pet, the same dog breed in Dead House and Monster Blood.

Anyways, I thought this book was a real adventure. It was like an Indiana Jones movie but for kids. Even though it was just as short as the other books, a whole lot happened. There was pretty much constant action from beginning to end. I also liked how in this book, the adults right away were confronted with the problem. In a lot of these books, the parents are totally oblivious to what’s going on until much later, but early on in The Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb, the adult was in on it. While there were living mummies in the story, the main villain was just a human. I found it pretty unique compared to the other Goosebumps books I’ve read.

Some things were a little far fetched though. The main character had this fake mummy hand that turned out to be real, but he got it at a garage sale back in the States. I think it was a little unbelievable that some random toy he got near his house just happened to be a key part of the story. The odds are just too low. Of course, kids wouldn’t even think this. It’s probably tough writing books for kids. You have to think like a kid.

Leave a Reply

