Movie Thoughts: X2: X-Men United

X2: X-Men United was a 2003 superhero film starring Patrick Stewart and Hugh Jackman, among many other big stars. I probably saw this movie in the theater, but I don’t have any memories of that. I do remember that one of my friends bought me the DVD for my birthday. X2 was the sequel to X-Men. I liked it more than the first movie overall. Now that most of the character introductions were done, they could get to the fun stuff, which was the plot. There was a lot more tension in the story from beginning to end. It kept me on the edge of my seat. I liked how all the characters developed. I really liked getting to see where the Wolverine was created. The villain, William Stryker, was also great.

I thought it had a cool ending too. Everything was wrapped up very nicely. One of the main characters was killed, but the ending hinted that this character would return in the next movie. I’ve always liked subtle foreshadowing, especially when the movie already has a good ending. If the movie leaves the viewer hanging, foreshadowing is an insult. If it’s got a good ending though, foreshadowing is a nice taste to get viewers started for the next film.

Leave a Reply

