Music Thoughts: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack was a 2002 soundtrack album by Howard Shore for the The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers film. After the impressive Gladiator soundtrack, I liked the idea of buying another movie soundtrack. The Two Towers was coming out soon, so I sprang for the soundtrack. I had never listened to a movie’s soundtrack before seeing the movie, so it was an interesting experience. At first I had a hard time getting into the music because I didn’t have the movie scenes to visualize. However, the music was top-notch, so I got used to it.

What I loved about this soundtrack was the sheer variety in the music. There were battle themes, regal themes, love themes, sad themes, and pretty much anything else one could think of. They also made sure that every track had a lot of tension. The Two Towers was the middle movie. Victory was not assured. The heroes could have failed. The music oozed with that feeling, almost like a horror movie. The listener never knew what the heroes could have to face next.

Later, I got to watch the movie and see what all the music I heard was used for. I could almost predict what would happen next because I knew where the musical cues happened. Even though I hadn’t seen the movie, I had a premonition of what would happen next. This gave me an extra connection to the movie. I decided not to do this in the future though because it could be risky with other movies. The listener doesn’t really know what they are getting until they’ve seen the movie. It’s better to see the movie first before hearing the music. The Lord of the Rings movie series was pretty much guaranteed to be good, so it was okay in this instance, but most times I would want to be more careful with my money.

Leave a Reply

