Video Game Thoughts: Super Smash Bros.

Super Smash Bros. was a 1999 fighting game for the Nintendo 64 by Nintendo. I can’t remember exactly, but I think my first experience with this game was through a rental. I had surely heard of the game from my Nintendo Power subscription, but I don’t remember planning ahead to buy it. Instead, I rented it to see if it was any good. It was really good. It totally caught me by surprise. I was glued to the television screen the entire rental time. After having such a blast I had to get the game.

Super Smash Bros. was a new kind of game for Nintendo. Fighting games were usually really violent and realistic, but not this game. It had a roster filled with all the popular Nintendo characters. It was a fighting game, but there was no blood or graphic violence. Everything was tame. It was nice to have a fighting game I could play in front of my parents.

The amazing thing about Smash Bros. was the roster. Nintendo characters were insanely popular. Nintendo could have just phoned in it here with all the characters having the same moves, but they didn’t. Every single character had their own set of unique moves based on the past games they appeared in. It was so fun to try out every character and see what moves they had. Everyone had their favorite character. Mine was Link because he seemed to be the most balanced. He had medium range, power, and speed, the perfect all-around character. Other characters might do better in one area but had negatives in other areas to make up for it.

I still liked playing every character. Most of them had a signature move that was really fun to pull off successfully. Donkey Kong had a special punch he could charge up. Fox had a reflect shield that could reflect any projectile back at the attacker. Samus could charge up her beam weapon for a massive blast. Even though Link was my favorite, I loved every character for at least something. I regularly practiced with all the characters because they were all so much fun to play.

The only bad thing about Super Smash Bros. was that it was really made for multiplayer. My friends really enjoyed the game, but they didn’t have Nintendo 64s. They weren’t any good at it. I think we did some cooperative games against the computer AI, but my friends were never interested in playing against me.

I didn’t have a really fun multiplayer session until one time in high school. I got invited to spend the night at a friend of a friend’s house to play Dungeons & Dragons. The next morning, one guy was waiting for the rest to get up. He started playing the Nintendo 64. Soon enough we had all gotten up and were playing Smash. Two of the guys there were pretty good. It was a lot of fun playing against better players, but I was still the best. They took a few games off of me, but I usually won. It was really nice to get a taste of the potential Super Smash Bros. had. If only I met other Nintendo players.

Video games were kind of an underground thing when I was growing up. A lot of the geeks like myself played them, but we didn’t talk about it. Talking about video games was a quick way to get teased by the popular kids. After four years of high school, I had just barely met a group of geeks like myself, but then it was off to college and having to find new friends again. I can’t be too disappointed though. The advantage of growing up when I did was being more well-rounded. I’m not totally dependent on technology for entertainment like some people. I can entertained just as much reading a book, something that many gamers find too boring.

Leave a Reply

